A Holiday with the Family (And Why I Would Recommend It)

Today I got back from a week with the family at Haggerston Castle caravan park. An impressive one hour up the A1, Haggerston has been a sort of tradition in my family since I was three years old. But this blog is not to sing the praises of a Haven holiday. It is instead to talk about my family, and why I think this holiday was good for us.

To start with, let me prefix this by telling you that it wasn’t my whole family who came with us this year. It was only eight of us, a mere two branches of the main family tree: me, my younger sister Natalie, my younger brother Lee, my mam, my auntie Lindsey, my uncle Mags, and their two sons Joshua and Harry.

I’m from a close family. It comes with living so close to each other I suppose. I see Lindsey, Mags and the boys at least three times a week. I live at home still. In fact, since I share a room, my sister is the first and last person I see a day. Family time isn’t something we were lacking.

But last Monday, my family packed their bags, and we went to Haggerston for a week of relaxation.

I’m joking. It was a family holiday. There was no relaxing. We lost the boys in a bamboo maze in Alnwick, Mags and Lee teamed up to annoy Natalie, I was ill, and Mario Kart DS became the source of many arguments.

But this is what I think we needed. I see my mam all the time, but how often do I take the time to make memories with her? Being with my family in this different place gave me a chance to make memories. And that in itself is worth it.

I know all families are different to mine. Some are only children, some have fathers, and some don’t have such a large number of extended family. But I would recommend that you take advantage of the summer. Go to the beach, visit a new city, or organise a day trip; do something new with your family. Because yes, we didn’t choose our family. But there is no reason we can’t choose to be their friends.

As much as I argue with them and get frustrated with them (and yes, that will probably be the theme of many posts to come), my family is my inspiration. I love them. And I’m glad that we had that time together.

That being said, I’m glad I’m back to wallowing in the corner of my room. Family time is great, but honestly, so is privacy…

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

