The Fake Geek Boy Must Be Stopped!

Ladies, I submit to you this new and crazy notion:

Boys don’t like comics.

Really. I know they say they do, and we just accept it as fact, but that’s where we’re going wrong. When quizzed, boys genuinely have no idea. They’re just in it for the tights and cape. They like the attention. And that’s fine if you’re packing a big utility belt; I’d like to see that kind of man action at my cons. But for those of you with Ant Man in their trousers… it’s time to hang up the spandex.

It’s actually kind of sad that boys feel the need to lie like this. I mean, they should spend less time trying to impress us, and more time fixing cars, or whatever it is they like to do. Leave the comics to the real fans. I bet they don’t even know Barbara Gordon’s birthday. Try asking a Geek Boy when Hal Jordan made his first appearance. The blank look of his face would be sweet if he wasn’t so pathetic.

Look, I’m not an misandrist! I have plenty of guy friends, and I even have a brother! It’s just that girls are naturally more intelligent. We understand the complex story lines of a comic series easier than boys do. It’s science! Boys are good at other things. But boys who say they like comic books… they just want all the girls to look at them. I say we don’t give them the satisfaction.

And if you don’t agree with anything I’ve just written…

Good.

Because it’s a ridiculous argument. And it’s just as ridiculous when it’s aimed at girls.

I have been a victim of this countless times. I have a lot of Batman merchandise, and I wear it proudly. And when Avengers Assemble came out, HMV launched a T-shirt range, and I was all over that. And because I was wearing something that was suddenly popular, I was just doing it for the attention.

I’m not an encyclopaedia when it comes to all things comic. Really, I’m not. I enjoy them more than the average person, but my main love is Modern Age Batman. Even then, how dare anyone tell me that I am not a real fan because I can not recite the first appearances of the villains in the Rogues Gallery? Why do I not see boys quizzed on their supposed hobbies?

A couple of years back, I wanted to get in to Warhammer 40k. I bought what I needed, and I was ready to play. I even had a friend who played already, and I went to watch him play one day. I was enthralled right away. The history of the game itself is fascinating, and for someone like me who is already easily drawn in by the fantasy genre, I was hooked. I wanted to make my own terrains, and have an army with its own history and culture!

I learned very quickly that not only would the players not give any newbie a chance to learn, they wouldn’t even give the time of day to a woman in their midst. I very quickly abandoned my dreams, and stuck instead to helping another friend with his terrains.

I thought the elitist geek trope was dead and buried, but here I am in 2013, having to write a blog post about this “fake geek” phenomenon. It’s childish, it’s petty, and God damn it, Games Workshop! I was 18! You have at least twice that age on me! If I can see how immature it is to marginalise a whole sub-section of your market, then surely you should have some vague clue that you’re not doing well as a business!

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of my blog. So let me ask of you this:

Ladies, have you ever encountered conflict over how much of a “real” geek you are?

Gentleman, what is your view on the “fake geek girl” meme?

Let me know what you think!

 

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Fake Geek Boy Must Be Stopped!

  1. Pingback: What is in a Name: The Brony Phenomenon and Fake Geek Girls | Aspiration and Might

  2. Myc says:

    As a girl, yes I would say there is a higher entry level of knowledge needed to be
    considered a fan. Growing up as burgeoning geek I found I couldn’t just enter into any discussion I wanted about something I liked I had to ‘prove’ myself first. It’s the assumption that, as a girl, I’m constantly lying to get attention that really angers me.

    Like

What do you think?

