An Update from Wonderland: November Edition

I’m terrible. I really am. When I have deadlines to meet, I forget all about my other commitments. Consider this my new month’s resolution: I aim to update this blog at least once a month.

First, let me catch you up on my life. I got a job at the university as Student Ambassador. That basically means that I’m being paid to go to Open Days and Uni fairs, and telling people considering coming to university why Sunderland is the best choice. I’m being paid to do what I already do. That’s the dream.

I was at the picket lines on Halloween, supporting my lectures on their National Strike again cuts. It was a good day, and we ended up joining the rally at Newcastle. We’re hoping the VC took note that the students stood with their lecturers, and not with the Chancellor’s. I could be persuaded to talk about that. I feel strongly about it.

Last night I went to see ‘Dracula: Die Laughing’, a play which will be at April’s Whitby Goth Weekend. I will, of course, be doing a review as I promised. Expect it soon (hopefully with pictures!)

So as is the rules of these updates, allow me to tell you about the exciting things to happen this month!

Well, I have a lot of Feminist Society things to prepare for. We’re advertising for more members, and our first events are soon. I’m most excited for the Women in Democracy workshop, an event sponsored by Young Parliament in celebration of the University of Sunderland’s Diversity Month. You can expect news from that, and I hope to engage you all in debate.

I’m also meeting Val McDermid at Gateshead Central Library. I love crime fiction, so I’m hoping that will be enlightening.

But mainly, I’m meeting deadlines. University life isn’t easy, but at least I’m enjoying it.

And now, back to regularly scheduled assignment writing… ugh.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

