An Update from Wonderland: March Edition

This morning, I finally filled out my MA application form, ready to hand in tomorrow. I’m hoping to do my Master’s degree at the University of Sunderland. I feel as though I’m treating this as more monumental than it probably is. I suppose it’s because I’ve seen so many intelligent people be rejected for their dream posts lately. The career game is hard, especially when you don’t have your mark made yet.

If I do get in, you can expect an excited and probably erratic post in celebration.

So, March is nearly over, and I fear I have neglected my blog to celebrate International Women’s History Month on Facebook. I’ve been posting a picture daily of women who inspire, who lead, who are experts in their fields. It struck me how limited my choices were. For every scientist I found, I found twenty times as many men.

I found out that I graduate in July! I’m really nervous about that. Just being in front of so many people and trying not to trip up is going to be a challenge. But I want to be a university lecturer one day. I need to get used to standing in front of a crowd.

And in some exciting news, preparations are under way for Spectral Visions III: The Vampire Strikes Back. There will be a blog post about that asap, but for anyone new to my ramblings, Spectral Visions is the annual Gothic conference hosted by the University of Sunderland. I’m involved in the planning committee this year, with a minor acting role and a major role as social media goddess. I may have chosen my own job title. Basically, my life from now until June is going to be essays, Spectral Visions, and blogging. 

If you want to check out the Spectral Vision blog, you can follow or read here.I’ll be posting some interviews there, my own blog posts, and you can read the posts by some of my amazing classmates. Likewise, you can follow on Twitter.

Finally, you might have noticed that I’ve made some changes to the blog. There’s a tab for you to contact me on, and I made a new banner. Do you like it?

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another blog post. How is your March holding up? How does it look in the future?

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

