An Update From Wonderland: April Edition

Am I a literary scholar who writes, or am I a creative writer who can perform literary analysis because I understand how writers think?

I was accused of both last night by my lecturers, and I can’t dispute either. I quite like being both. My degree is in both writing and in literature; I am involved in literary and creative writing. I run an academic blog. And as of last night, a book I was published in went on sale.

(Allow me to interrupt my life update to provide this link here. You should buy it not only for me, but for the other wonderful writers who were published)

This means that before I turn 21, I have achieved one of my dreams by becoming a fully fledged author. That is two pieces of my work available in print. It’s a strange feeling. Everything is strange now. April is shaping up to be a strange month.

The other day, I got an email talking about Graduation, and suddenly the past three years became real to me. I always try hard on my assignments and exams, but it’s only just now dawned on me that each of those goes towards my degree. After this, it’s an MA in English, in a degree which now as a creative vein to it. I’m euphoric about that! I didn’t want to have to choose between the two just yet.

But back to what this month has in store for me.

Well, it’s Easter! That means a break from university to concentrate on… well, more university. I have conferences to help organise, and assignments due in. Luckily, I have a study group on stand-by; misery loves company, but suffering loves it more.

I had the great honour of seeing Propeller’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream on Thursday. You can, naturally, expect a review on that. I won’t give any spoilers, but I will say it worth every penny.

And finally, at the end of the month, I’m going on holiday! Just for the weekend for my sister’s 16th birthday, and only to Haggerston Castle, but it’s oddly symbolic to me. That was the first post this blog ever had, and we’ve come full circle. In less than a year, I have archived so much of my life, and accumulated so many followers who think my inane rattling is something worth reading.

So to all of you, I say thank you. Truly, and from the bottom of my heart.

Anyway, I really must return to writing about Jung and fairytale.

And so, my dear readers, we reach t he end of another post.

How are your Aprils shaping up? Is anyone else graduating soon? What big landmarks have you reached recently?

Let me know your thoughts.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

