Something Sentimental to Share with My Sister

It is traditional here at Aspiration and Might for me to give you an update of my life on the first of the month. We are, of course, ignoring how awful I am at sticking to that schedule. But with today being the 1st May, I thought it would be nice to deviate…

I am not the only Gallon child. I am the eldest of three. And on the 1st May 1998, my baby sister was born. Today, she turns 16. And with her GCSE exams upcoming, she is on the cusp of the beginning of the rest of her life.

Anyone who knows me knows I love my family. My first post on here was about my family, and my Facebook is littered with the latest quote du jour from someone in the Gallon-Parker-Mclaughlin tree. I also know that anyone who has siblings knows what I mean when I say that I do not understand my sister.

I was 16 once. Almost 5 years ago, actually. But the drama Natalie goes through, the problems she has, the things she learns are totally foreign to me. And yet time and time again, she comes to me seeking advice, because the 5 year difference between us is not a barrier we submit to willingly. I teach her things that boggle her mind, and she shares with me experiences I never had at her age. I am the first to criticise Natalie, and the first to leap to her defence because that is my job as big sister.

I do not wear make-up. I do not shop for clothes for fun. Frankly, I don’t know why she’s so insistent that the characters always end up together (the build-up is clearly the best part!), but I still take her to see awful movies about husbands and sick wives because no one else will take her. I know every word to every CD she owns because I let her play them over and over in our shared bedroom. I listen to stories about people I hardly know, and offer the best advice that I can (more often than not, it’s a swift order to get rid of them from her life).

Am I a good sister to Natalie? No. But I think I’m getting better. Maybe when she’s 32 and I’m 37, we’ll be better at it.

We have another 16 years to be the best sisters. After that, we may just have to settle for being friends.

This was needlessly sappy. I know. Believe me, I know. It’s saccharine, and cloying, and regrettably all true. Natalie is 16 tomorrow, but to me she will forever be 10 years old, trying to make me play with the Bratz dolls when I’d only do it if I could be Jade.

Happy birthday, Natalie. We all love you. My way just transfers best in to the written word.

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another post. This was more personal than anything I usually post. I assure you, I will soon be back to cutting the biphobic patriarchy with my werewolves and comics very soon, and the aforementioned Update from Wonderland will be up soon.

So let me ask you this: do you have a milestone birthday coming up? Do you have any siblings? And what do you think your relationship with them is like?

Let me know you thoughts.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something Sentimental to Share with My Sister

  1. parkerlady says:

    Love this , love all your posts especially the family side but this really makes me smile! 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

