An Update from Wonderland: July Edition

I have a rocky relationship with July at the moment. It has to make up its mind; is it going to boil me alive or not? Anyone who knows me in real life knows I am not an outdoors person, partly because I don’t respond well to heat. I love a good summer storm, but days of constant sun are torture to me.

Anyway, I think we know each other well enough not to be talking about the weather. As is the way around here, an update from Wonderland is an update on my life.

The thing on everyone’s mind now is graduation. My dearest and best friend Kelly graduated this week (and as celebration, you should go read some of her amazing blog posts). On the 8th, I will be graduating with most my friends from the University of Sunderland.

Truthfully, I don’t want to do this. The pomp of the ceremony doesn’t sit right with me. I don’t know if it’s the emphasis on tradition or how big of a deal is made of a few seconds on stage, but graduation fills me with dread. It’s also a frankly expensive affair.

I have a confession to make. I was asked to give the vote of thanks on behalf of the department of culture. It’s meant to just be a small speech, thanking everyone in the team and the university for getting us to this point. The idea of doing it though, in front of all those people… I’m not quite there yet.

Instead, the vote of thanks will be done by my friend, Lee. Lee is my hero. I actually think he should have been the first choice. Lee is an activist, a leader, and he’s a damn good public speaker. At council, he’s always the one with a comment. He’s also promised a speech that’s not too political. So I hope you’ll join me in wishing him luck!

Honestly… I did want to do it. But the panic and fear was setting in as soon as I was typing an agreement. It’s better if someone else does it. And while we’re talking about honesty, I’m glad it was Lee who did it.

In other news,something I wrote on Spectral Visions will be in the university magazine About Us. I’m very happy with this. I will be saving a copy for my memory wall.

My job hunt is not going well. As it turns out, people are not willing to hire you if you’re continuing your education. I just want a job to help meet the costs of living and travel. The university doesn’t have postgraduate blogging as it turns out. It’s just my luck really; I discover a passion months after it turns out I can’t use it anymore. But I am optimistic! Something will come up soon.

I’m also attempting to write a paper for publication. I don’t have a PhD, and I’ve never published academically before, but the MA year is my time to push my boundaries and see what I’m capable of. Hopefully, it will be a success. If not, at least it was an experience.

And finally, after my last post on going to university got posted by the University of Sunderland and ended up on a few message boards, I’ve got myself a few more requests for posts on university life. If you want me to write on anything, you can contact me in any way on the Contact Me tab. I love to hear from you guys.

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another blog post.

Let me ask you this: have you ever had to reject something out of nerves? What was your graduation like, or what do you think it will be like? And how are you finding the job market?

Let me know your thoughts!

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

