Update from Wonderland: August Edition

Ah, August. I have such a tempestuous relationship with you. It’s summer in all it glory, and unfortunately I am not a fan of summer. There is little to do, too many people and the weather wants me dead.

August is going to be a very laid-back month for me. Forgive the brevity of this post.

This Saturday is Geek-Con, a convention in Gateshead. I’ll be going to help my friend Kelly with her stall. She’ll be selling art, craft and painting faces. I have none of her talent, but I do intend to get a post out of this. I’ll be asking women to share their Fake Geek Girl stories, and hopefully taking a lot of pictures for it. The life of a blogger is forever filled with attempts to make what they do relevant.

This month also marks a momentous occasion for the blog. Aspiration and Might will be one year old next week! I remember fondly the day I decided to start this blog. I never thought it would take over my life in such a big way. I don’t regret it, but I do wish I had started the blog with a more serious game plan.

Most of the month will be spent reading. I have a million things I need to read, and I have to start selling books. I am in desperate need of the money and space. It’s going to be hard. My books are my babies, but it needs to be done. Selling them might make me a Dickensian villain, but as long as they go to a happier place.

That’s about it from me. For any of you who are friends with me on Facebook, you know I have a very big post coming soon on Tim Burton. It’s not for fans. I had a very angry and upset fan tell me that I should keep my opinions to myself. I will not, but if you are a fan of Burton I would warn you to avoid it when it comes up.

And so dear readers, we reach the end of another post. Let me ask you this: how are your months looking? What are you doing to stay cool? And do you ever have to sell your books and things?

Let me know your thoughts.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

