Update from Wonderland: September Edition

I am very sorry about my radio silence over the past month. My laptop is having some serious issues with my favourite sites. It wouldn’t even let me tweet. But whatever meltdown my laptop was having, it seems to have resolved itself. So let’s get this update underway!

Ah, September. The month where school starts again, autumn arrives and Green Day sleeps the month away. Some very exciting things are happening in the Gallon household.

This weekend, my baby brother moves away! He’s off to the University of Sunderland (I cannot fault his taste). Unlike me, he won’t be living at home to study. He’ll be moving in to Sunderland and living in student accommodation. It does mean he won’t have to battle chronic tiredness like I did, since he gets to forego the two hour commute. It also means he gets to do the drinking and partying that I didn’t want to do.

I think this highlights why going to university is such a unique experience. My brother and I are as different as night and day. Perhaps even more-so. We’re as different as night and cabbage. While Lee is more interested in the bar scene and the team sports, I’ve always been more interested in the education and the community spirit. We both set out looking for experience and memories, and we somehow ended up at the same place. It’s just another reason I love the University of Sunderland.

That is why I love the University of Sunderland. There is something for everyone. I’ll secretly miss Lee when he’s gone. I say secretly because I know he won’t be read this. I know he’ll have fun, he’ll make a lot of friends… but hopefully he’ll come home some times.
September is also the month when everyone goes back to university, meaning its Fresher’s Week! And of course, Fresher’s Week just would not be the same without Fresher’s Fayre. The Fem Soc will be having a sort of themed stall with WWII posters and artist reinterpretations. I’ve always loved the iconic Rosie the Riveter poster. Obviously.

If we were the Justice League, I'd probably be The Question.

If we were the Justice League, I’d probably be The Question.

I’ll let you know how that goes! It’ll be a long day, but a day well worth it.

Then there’s the Spectral Visions Launch Party! I don’t want to talk too much about it, as I will be reblogging the official post tomorrow, but I’m very excited to be involved in it. We’re launching a collection of original Gothic fiction in an anthology. I’ll be doing a review after the party, so you can look forward to that.

That’s it for my month. Next month, things get even crazier. And as a teaser of my next post, I’ll be explaining a variety of ways to get the most from your university experience. I can guarantee my brother will pay attention to none of it.

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another post.

Let me ask you this: is anyone going back to or starting university or school? Have you read anything recently that you think deserves a review? And how are your Septembers looking.

Let me know your thoughts.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

