Update from Wonderland: November Edition

First of all, let me just say that my Halloween costume is something I am seriously considering wearing every day from now on. I wore it for the Spectral Visions Halloween Extravaganza, and once more the next day to take my cousins out Halloweening. They made a killing in the Haribo collection market. They’re too cute for their own good.

Pictured: Steve Watts, Dr Alison Younger, me and Dr Bill Hughes

Pictured: Steve Watts, Dr Alison Younger, me and Dr Bill Hughes

Alright, back to business.

Hello everyone! Happy November. I hope you had a magical Halloween, whatever you did. November is upon us, and the year is swiftly drawing to a close.

I think a certain Mr Holmes and I share the same feeling of knowing it’s already November.

tumblr_mcu83mvQYT1qlhhx4o1_500tumblr_mcu83mvQYT1qlhhx4o3_500

I don’t know where the year has gone. It’s been consumed by conferences, classes and Facebook games. It means I’ll have to start Christmas shopping soon and that’s never fun. I have a brother and sister who are impossible to shop for. Maybe that will be a post in the future. How to avoid murder during the holiday season.

Anyway, my November news and plans!

Well first, I got a job! I am a McDonald’s crew member now. I won’t be talking much about it because we’re told to be cautious when it comes to talking about work on social media. I’ll just leave it at I’m finally employed and my first shift is on Saturday. I’m both nervous and excited. I love a new challenge.

Speaking of social media and challenges, I’m today until next Friday I’ll be the student running the Students of UoS Twitter. It’s a brilliant idea for a twitter, really. Every week a new student is chosen to run the Twitter and talk about their life at the university. The platform is open to any class, club or campus, giving a much broader look at the kinds of experiences on offer at the University of Sunderland. Here’s hoping they don’t catch on to how very boring I really am.

I have more Student Rep training this month. I’m sincerely glad I offered to be Rep for my class. I’m already learning a lot and I have more training to come. I’ll be improving my social media skills and my leadership skills. At the end, I’ll get a certificate. So to all my friends who call me the Blogging Queen and Social Media Goddess… I’ll be certified soon enough.

I should be getting my assignment questions soon too. That means I’ll be doing a lot of research and spending most of my free time in the library. You know you’re a student when attending a lecture is considered time off. I’m excited to get started, but also a little apprehensive. We’ll be learning how to write a postgraduate-level assignment first though, so at least I’m getting guidance with it. I’m still debating if I want to do a psychoanalysis or queer/feminist reading of Dracula…

Apart from that, my November is going to be working and reading. It’s not my most exciting month but at least this post had Robert Downey Jr gifs in it.

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another post.

Let me ask you this: is anyone else starting work this month? How is university treating my Freshers followers? And how is your Novembers looking? Remember you can always leave me a response here or get in touch with me through the Contact Me tab at the top.

Let me know your thoughts.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

