Update from Wonderland: December Edition

This is a huge, exciting month for me, mostly thanks to The Guardian, Writing North East and the International Gothic Association.

First of all, I’m writing a post for The Guardian’s student blog. It’s a special Christmas themed post about a fun way to shop on a budget. It should be up next week, and I’ll be providing you all with a link as soon as it comes up! I’m very excited to be blogging with The Guardian. For all my international readers (of which I have a surprising number), The Guardian is a newspaper in the United Kingdom. They have a blog for students to pitch ideas to, and I decided to give a try. They loved my idea, so here I am. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Speaking of venturing, a few months back I mentioned being asked to be the monthly blogger for the International Gothic Association’s Postgraduate blog. Well, the month has arrived! I’ll be starting later on in the month and taking it over to the new year. Again, links will be provided when they’re available, but expect posts on Christmas demons, The Bloody Chamber and animated vampires.

I’ve also been asked to blog for a new writing blog! I have a lot of blogging news this month. I’m beginning to suspect that I don’t have enough hobbies. Anyway, I’ll be their blogger in February, dishing out all of my writing tips and practices to a new generation of writers. The blog starts writers from the north-east of England, but it is for everyone. I hope you’ll give it a read now and anticipate my contributions in the future.

Apart from all that, my main concern this month is Christmas. The older I get, the most stressful it’s becoming to me. I need to make a dent in my to-do list soon. Unfortunately, university and work comes first.

I will be writing posts for this blog too in the mean time. I have one in the works about some recent Batwoman drama and what it means to an industry that already has a shaky relationship with its female fans.

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another month.

Let me ask you this: how are your Decembers looking? Have you finished or even started your Christmas shopping? And do you have any exciting news you just have to share?

Let me know your thoughts.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update from Wonderland: December Edition

  1. zampano says:

    Congratulations on all the writing opportunities! It sounds like you have a lot of exciting things planned in the near future.

    My December is going to be interesting. I plan to spend most of it looking for a second job that I can work part time.

    I haven’t started Christmas shopping and probably won’t this year, my family recently seems to be all about the gifts and nothing else so I plan to visit them instead.

    Like

What do you think?

