Down the Rabbit Hole: A Mid-Month Update

With only a week before Christmas, you may think I have neglected a Yuletide-themed post this year. That’s not strictly true. I’ve written three! It just so happens that none of them have made their way here.

I mentioned in my Update from Wonderland post that I was guest blogging at various places. I now have three posts you haven’t read yet.

First, my post at The Guardian’s student blog. You can read it here. It’s a guide to shopping for Christmas presents when you’re on a budget. It translates outside of Christmas too. It is really strange having someone else edit my work. My original post was different in a lot of aspects, and I may post it soon as a comparison. Still, blogging for them was an honour. And if you’re struggling with no money and no time left until Christmas, I hope my post can help you in some way. Kelly has since received her gift from me, and she loved it. So at least you know it works.

Speaking of honours, I now have two of my four planned posts up on the International Gothic Association’s Postgraduate blog.

The first post is called Christmas Demons I – Icelandic Folklore. It is an exploration of some interesting creatures from Icelandic legend which make appearances during Christmas. It looks in particular at Grýla, the Yule Lads and the Yule Cat.

The second is a sequel of sorts. It’s called Christmas Demons II – Krampus and Perchta. Much like the other post, it is an exploration of two more figures of Christmas darkness. They are more well-known than their Icelandic counterparts, but equally horrifying. If you like child-eating demons who will slit open your stomach if you dare misbehave, these are the posts for you.

I’m really enjoying blogging in these new places, but I do fear I’m neglecting this blog. So rest assured that I will have a Christmas themed post for you all this year.

I have two more posts to do for the International Gothic Association. One is one werewolves. The other is a surprise. But if you want to read my other posts and comment, I’d greatly appreciate it.

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another post. It was short, I know. They will get bigger again soon.

Let me ask you this: what projects are you busy with now? Are you ready for Christmas or your respective holiday? And do you live in a culture where Christmas demons are still celebrated?

Let me know your thoughts!

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

