My 2015 Promises

New Year’s is a time of hope.

The holidays remind me of Rise of the Guardians. If you haven’t seen it, definitely do. I loved it and so did my cousins. It’s about Jack Frost, who becomes a Guardian of Childhood alongside the Tooth Fairy, Santa Claus, the Sandman and the Easter Bunny, as they do battle with the Bogeyman, Pitch Black. The idea is that these are characters that all American children encounter and characters they take with them to adulthood. We may no longer believe in them, but their messages remain true.

Each character represents a core value that we need to lead a fulfilling life. What always confused me about the values is that Easter is called the time of Hope. To me, Easter is a time of life. Hope is what happens at New Year’s.

Whenever you celebrate the New Year, whether it be on the Julian calendar, Chinese, Jewish, or any other time-telling system, you celebrate both the end of an era and the promise of a new start.

So, these are my hopes for 2015. I could have made a list of things I wanted to do, but realistically I only have time for university now. Maybe 2016.

1 – Learn to say no

As I was typing this, the boyfriend asked if I wanted to come to a house party tomorrow. It took me a good few minutes to gather myself together and tell him no. No, a house full of drunk strangers in a city an hour away is not my idea of fun time. And honestly, my anxiety levels spiked at the idea of having to do that.

But this is the problem I have. Because now, I feel guilty. Guilty that I said no to a situation that doesn’t make me feel safe or comfortable.

Learning to say no is not as easy as just rejecting a proposition. It’s learning to say no and be happy with your decision. It’s something I think everyone should learn to do at an early age.

2 – See more plays

I love the theatre and so rarely go. I was told by an ex once that I’m too critical for the theatre. I’m still not sure what that means. All I know is that I have never seen a show I haven’t loved. I’d like to try to see different kinds of shows this year. Maybe a musical and play, or a pantomime and a dance show. I’ve always wanted to see an opera…

Some shows I saw last (academic) year

Some shows I saw last (academic) year

The theatre is something people view as for upper class or pretentious people. And to those people, I invite them to see a show in Newcastle. People from all walks of life come to watch the shows. Shakespeare, Avenue Q… the theatre is alive and interactive. No fur coats needed.

I don’t go often because I don’t want to go alone. But this year, I’m going to see more. This is a treat to myself.

3 – Write more reviews

Surprising no one, I am opinionated. Despite this, writing reviews is something I rarely do anymore. I used to do it a lot. I would review everything I came across, whether it was a movie, book or one time even a castle. I gave it four stars. It needed more turrets.

I don’t do it as much anymore because now I have a place for them. I have written a few reviews on this blog, but generally I worry that I offend people. I know my sister is offended when I don’t love her favourite movies.

I’ve started this early. And if it’s accepted, I should have a game review published in Wearside Craic. But more on that when it’s a certainty.

4 – Take more pictures

In college my camera was attached to my hand. I took pictures of everything. At some point I was taking pictures of every abandoned umbrella I came across. There were surprisingly a lot in Newcastle when I was 17.

Then I went to university. I missed my friends. I missed my Kelly. I didn’t want to take pictures anymore. My first year of university was not a happy one. My second was only marginally better. Third year was amazing, but by then I had just fallen out of practice. I didn’t want to take pictures anymore.

I have very few pictures of my university life. The ones that exist are from someone else’s memory. I want to change that. Maybe then I can decorate this blog more.

5 – Finish writing something

I don’t know what I’ll do with it when I do. But Kelly despairs at the fact that I get her excited about new stories that I just never finish. Since finishing my degree, I’ve been writing creatively a lot less. Right now, I think it would just be good for me to finish something. A short story, or maybe a series. Baby step up to that novel I’ve been writing for four years. I’m taking my writing a lot more seriously now. I even have my own writer’s site that you should all check out. Still, some days it feels like even finishing a sentence is a

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another post. I’ll be spending tomorrow with my sister. I hope your celebrations are fun and fruitful.

Let me ask you this: what are your resolutions? What are your plans for the New Year? And what are you most looking forward to in 2015?

Let me know your thoughts

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

