The Importance of Self-Care

It has been a very stressful month for me. I think it’s been a stressful time for a lot of people I know. This particular post is dedicated to a particular Celtic queen who needs to regain a little of her Irish magic after a bad time.

Dear readers, you may have heard it said that your body is a temple. I actually quite like that metaphor. It’s a reminder than you should worship yourself. To some people, that means trying to make yourself the best you can be. To others, it means accepting that your body is your own, and you love it all the same.

I’m somewhere in the second category. And honestly, I’m content with the way I am. But that doesn’t mean I don’t get drained and need something to recharge my batteries or perk me up after a hard time.

This is where the idea of self-care comes from. Self-care is about caring for yourself after times of stress or hardship. It can be expressed in various ways, and it all depends on you.

Here are some things I do after a hard time:

  • Take a long bubble bath
  • Treat myself to something small, like a book or comic
  • Eat ice cream (or something sweet I’m craving)
  • Spend some time writing what I want
  • Reorganise my book-case

These are small things, but they help me. Everyone will have their own quirks and idiosyncrasies that work for them. If you like bath bombs and scented candles, go ahead and indulge. If you want to get your hair done and do some retail therapy, that’s good. If you like a full gym work out and do a full body detox, roll with it.

If you don’t have the time or money to do something big, small things can help. Spend a few hours just colouring in or napping.

It was considered an honour to be chosen to keep the temples in ancient times. Vestal Virgins for example, who cared for the temples of the Roman goddess Vesta, were tasked with keeping the hearth flame alight and keeping the temple pristine. So take care of your temple. Do what you can. And remember: nothing is more important than your emotional and mental health.

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another post.

Let me ask you this: how do you unwind after a hard time? How do you like to pamper yourself? And what has been your best relaxing day?

Let me know your thoughts.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

