How Not To Romance

I’m guest blogging this month over at Writing North East. This was a comedic look at some of the awful euphemisms I’ve seen in romance. Join in the fun! What do you think? Do you know any other funny euphemisms that would be an instant turn off in the real world?

Writing North East

In the days leading up to Valentine’s Day, I thought this should be a festive post. And since St Valentine is the patron saint of love (and bee-keeping, plague and epilepsy, but they’re so much harder to make festive), this post is dedicated to romance. Romance is an interesting genre. It’s often dismissed because it’s demographic is predominantly women, and people seem to think it’s easy.

Dear readers, it’s not easy. I’ve attempted the genre before, and I have to say, I’m not good at it. But if you’re like me and talentless in the romance department, I wouldn’t worry. It seems to be an epidemic.

I am a fan of the genre as a reader. I will admit with zero shame that if there is a picture of a pretty man in a kilt on the front, I will read it. Gladiators too. Romance is enjoyable in its predictability…

View original post 177 more words

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

