Update from Wonderland: March Edition

I’m back! And it feels good. I don’t have any more guest blogging months planned for the foreseeable future, so I’m back to posting here. It’s good to be home. I’ve missed it. But I had a lot of fun over at Writing North East, and they have some cool bloggers planned for the future. Definitely check them out.

So what am I doing this month?

Matriarchy

Well, it’s International Women’s History Month! This is exciting for me. It means a month of feminist and women-orientated events for me. The Women in Leadership conference, the Women’s Day celebration at Newcastle, the talks… it’s going to be great. I’ll be having a post for these if I can get sufficient notes.

Linked to this is that Fem Soc is starting a book club. I’ve always wanted to be in a book club. An attempt was made in high school, but no one actually wanted to read. So take 2, hopefully this will go well. I’ll update you after our first meeting!

I’m going back for semester 2 at Sunderland too. This semester will be Irish Supernaturalism (yay!) and Postmodernism and Modernism (meh). I’m not a fan of modernism or postmodernism, but I am a fan of Irish folklore and Supernaturalism. So it’s going to be a good semester. I’m excited.

I’m going to be starting a series called Tales from Sunderland. It was a working title, but as it turns out, I’m useless with naming things. So here we are. The idea is that I sit in on my old undergraduate classes and write-up a kind of review for potential students. I didn’t care about league tables when I was applying for university because the course content was what I was interested in. I didn’t want to have to do things I didn’t have an interest in, like American literature. So the idea is to kind of outline the module and put it up. Don’t worry though, I’ll be putting it up on a different blog, so as not to clutter.

I have a lot of half-formed posts done, so you’ll be seeing a lot of posts that really have nothing to do with each other. I’m in a writing mood lately. It’s a rare and good thing.

It’s a pretty lax month for me. I have a reading list a mile long and a lot of old projects have ended. It’s about time I got some new ones to be honest. I’m not busy enough. Though once we get Spectral Visions planning underway, I’ll be a lot busier.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

