Update from Wonderland: May Edition

I’m only twenty day’s late with this update. That’s not too bad.

Apologies for my silence. Between work, research and classes, I have zero time for anything that’s not making me money or getting me through university. I’m in the home stretch though, so this is my reward.

As an apology, here is a bunny.

Give up

What have I been up to this month?

Making my title very apt, yesterday I went to a talk on Alice in Wonderland at Newcastle University with some friends. I don’t want to go too much in to it here, since I’m writing a post about it. I will say that I was obsessed with Alice for a while. From high school to the end of college, it was my favourite story. I never liked Alice, but the world and the characters fascinated me. I wrote poems, stories… it was a real problem. I never academicised it out of fear for ruining it for myself. As it turns out, it just made it better for me.

Most of this month has been me applying for a PCET. A PCET is a qualification for teaching in the Post-Compulsory Education sector. That’s everything from sixth form to adult learners. I haven’t missed the evil that is UCAS, and my personal statement is awkward to write. I don’t want to brag about myself, but then I write a sentence that is almost too bragging and I delete it. It’s hard to be humble and sell yourself. This is why I have lovely friends who tell me my opening sentence is awful and it needs to be deleted immediately (I promise it’s gone, Fi).

I was nervous about applying, but now I’m excited. I hope there’s still places left. I’ve left it pretty late. I’m excited to do placements. It’s made me think though. I’ve mentioned a few times how bad my anxiety was at the start of third year. I like to think I’ve flourished since then, but to stand in front of a class of students… it’s either going to be amazing or horrifying. I’ll update you on this when I know.

That’s really it from me. I doubt you care about my Poe essay. Realistically, I hardly care about it. I enjoy the research aspect, but I’m not enjoying writing it.

I would like to take this time to remind you I do take requests for posts. Check out my about tab for details about how to get in touch. I currently have a post in the works about disability in children’s media, and I’m flirting with the idea of doing a post on censorship and feminism in Sailor Moon. If you want to see my thoughts about a subject, send me an email!

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another post.

Let me ask you this: what have you done this month? If you’re a student, what are your plans for next year? And what childhood book do you look fondly on still?

Let me know your thoughts.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

