Update from Wonderland: September Edition

Dear readers, it’s September again.

september

I got my hospital results back. The mass removed was thyroid cancer. And now I have a choice to make. I can go through the surgery again, an experience which still fills me with dread when I think about. It will mean having my thyroid completely taken out, lest it have spread to the other side already. Without my thyroid I’ll be on a hormone replacement pill.

The alternative is to wait. I will have appointments for the rest of my life, as is apparently common after cancer. I will have scans to see how the other side is doing. Should I start developing another lump, surgery will be a must. There is no guarantee that will ever happen to me though.

For now, I’m waiting and seeing. I don’t want to go through that again. The scars are literally too fresh for me to put myself through it.

But I am in better health now than I have been since the surgery. My dissertation has been handed in and I am awaiting the results of that next month. I haven’t had the best year of it, what with losing my first batch of assignments, my uncle dying and the hospital trips, but with any luck I’ll still pass.

Onwards and upwards though. I start my new degree this week. I’m still waiting on a placement, and it’s looking to be in Functional English not A-Level. For those unaware or new to the blog (hello!), I’ll be starting the PGCE PCET course at the University of Sunderland. Yes, another Sunderland degree. My diehard Newcastle supporter cousin is slowly hating me more and more.

I’m excited for this. I’m also nervous. It is so radically different to what I’m used to, and literature was always my strong point. While language is interesting to me and I loved studying it, it’s not the crux of my degree knowledge. I have confidence, but I also have my worries. So more on teaching life as it develops I suppose.

As a final note, I like the image I found on google. I may attempt to make graphics for these updates so I’m not taking from image searches anymore.

I’m sorry this update was so short and so late. I hope you can understand that it was not a good few months.

And so, dear readers, we reach the end of another post.

Let me ask you this: how many of your started a new degree or course this month? Who is still working on their dissertations? And what hardships have you overcome recently.

And as an additional question, how would you feel about me posting more book and film reviews on here?

Let me know your thoughts.

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

