When I Needed Help

I haven’t written in a while. I know it’s bad when WordPress has a layout change and I am completely flummoxed by it. I can only apologise for my absence.

I haven’t been well. Not in my usual way this time, but on a more personal level.

Since the summer, my anxiety attacks were getting worse. I couldn’t eat. I didn’t sleep well. I was always sick and leaving the house was a nightmare I didn’t want to face anymore. It took one well-timed visit from my auntie Jeanette at a time when I was spiraling and all alone for the truth to be addressed.

I went to the doctors next day and I’ve been on antidepressants for a couple of months now.

I haven’t really told people. I’m doing so now because the hypocrisy of it has finally dawned upon me. For years I have stood by the belief that mental health is as important as physical health. I have cried loudly that there should not be a stigma attached to mental illness and the need for pills.

Then suddenly it was my illness. My pills. Suddenly I didn’t want to talk about it anymore.

I am now.

Hopefully this will be me getting back in to writing again. I have new ideas for the new year and some exciting news to follow this week.

I am sorry. And I am back.

In lieu of my usual questions, I ask my followers to reach out to people who are struggling in their lives. Give them the help they need.

And as always, the comments section is open to those who want to talk.

 

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

