The 52 Review: Gekkan Shōjo Nozaki-kun

Title: Gekkan Shōjo Nozaki-kun Volume 1
Author: Izumi Tsubaki
Genre: Shoujo Manga

Gekkan Shōjo Nozaki-kun is the first new manga I’ve enjoyed since entering my twenties. I saw the anime first and was hooked by the premise: Chiyo Sakura is a high school student who develops a crush on the stoic and handsome Umetarou Nozaki. When she confesses her feelings to him, he gives her his autograph. After, she finds out that he leads a double life as Sakiko Yumeno, a renowned shoujo manga artist.

Gekkan Shōjo Nozaki-kun offers a fun and interesting insight into the manga industry. Other classmates help with the manga, whether it is through offering their artistic talents or inspiration for the characters.

My favourite character outside the main two has to be Mikoto Mikoshiba, or Mikorin. He’s a charming, bold character who is secretly shy and easily embarrassed. He spends a lot of time collecting figurines and playing dating simulators. I relate to him a lot.

The pages are set up as 4 panel stories, making it an easy read for someone who doesn’t have the time for a complicated story. The art is gorgeous and the chaarqacters all have their charms.

The official translation of volume 1 has only just been released in the UK, but fan translations exist online. At the very least, I implore you to give the anime a try.

Oh wow

I’m really looking forward to the next volume. It’s been years since I’ve been excited by a manga. It’s good to be drawn back in.

I hope you enjoyed this review! If you have any requests or suggestions, don’t be afraid to leave a comment. And if you give this series a try, let me know!

About Stephanie Gallon

I'm 22 years old with first class honours in BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing. I'm currently studying MA English Studies. I'm an author, a blogger, and a zealot of all things written. I write on everything from comics, to feminism, to advice on university life.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

